Clear coats?

Ghostphoenix01

Jr Hunter
getting towards the end of my 2 builds and was wondering what Matt clear coat to get and if it will distort the colors? Or is it better to just not clear it at all? Thanks ahead of time guys!

Personally I usually elect to avoid clear coating, they tend to completely matte out the metallics making them pretty much null. Also oil enamels are also pretty damn tough on their own too, so I don't really feel a clear is adding too much. I also just like my damage layers having that real 3D texture to them you can feel with your fingertips, a clear layer sorta rounds all that off a bit.

So generally, yeah, definitely don't feel like you have to clear.

I've never tried dullcoat though before, maybe it's laquer nature does a lot better with those problems?

Last edited:
My ESB paint up is done with Humbrol and the Humbrol paint guide for a starting point. I was concerned with how much affect the clear coat would have on the
metallic (silver) areas when finished. I tested a number of combinations with Testors different metallics and spray coatings. It's just my opinion but the best result on all
of the paint came by using Model Master Metalizer Non-Buff spray over Model Master Non- Buff Aluminum paint.
Here it is.
DSC_7155.JPG I've posted this in other places because I haven't seen it mentioned before.
It brings out a richness and depth of color without much sheen.That's what you need for hard objects to have a substantial look ...In my opinion.
Here is how our ESB Boba looks with as many as 4 coats of sealer and under a heavy studio light set up.
DSC_7352.jpg He shines less with excellent color depth in natural light conditions.
If anyones is interested I used Bare Metal Foil for the center chest piece.

DSC_7029.jpg Hope more people give this a try.

Anyone else use Future floor finish? Just add a bit of the Tamiya matt stuff if you prefer a matt look.