What paints?

Ghostphoenix01

Jr Hunter
hey guys!! I've asked about what airbrush's are good and that you use but I didn't ask about paints. Since I'm a beginner and this is my first helmet which paints should I get or which should I stay away from? And what's a good primer? Thanks!!

Most name brand paints should be OK for working on a Fett helmet. Tamiya, Humbrol, Testors Model Master, Vallejo. Those are all quality brands.
Are you planning to work in acrylic or enamel? Some lines make both.
It also depends where you live. For example, Humbrols are widely available in the UK, but trickier to find in some parts of the US.

Tamiya makes an excellent primer, although it's a little more expensive. But I've used Duplicolor primer with great results. That's usually available at most auto supply stores.

I'm sure more folks will chime in with their advice, too. Good luck with your paint up!

I'm on the east coast of the U.S. and as far as acrylic or enamel I'm not sure hahaha. That's kinda why I started the thread. Wasn't sure which is easier for a beginner with an airbrush or if there is even any difference.

I think working with acrylics is easier. Enamels have a pretty strong smell and produce more fumes.
If you have the space to airbrush indoors, like with a ventilated hobby room or use a paint booth, that's a big plus.

I use Krylon rattlecan for the primer, and the silver. Technically the production helmets were made with white gelcoat, so you could prime white, otherwise grey is usually what ive used on the black cast helmets.