Printed Helmet Project

Taltuu

New Hunter
Hey everyone, I just put up Video number 1 in my printed helmet project over on my YouTube channel. I've been a member of the Dented Helmet for a while, and have been admiring the awesome work you guys do. I recently got a 3D printer and knew that this was going to be the first big project I try and tackle.

Modeling the helmet has been a very frustrating, but rewarding process. I am a CAD guy by trade, but I mostly deal with mechanical models, not many organic shapes. This has been a huge learning process for me. I'm also using a software in Fusion 360, that I'm not entirely comfortable in yet. But, this project has certainly helped me really get into Fusion. I'm not going for an exact screen replica, that would be impossible for me. But, I am trying to build a pretty decent 3D model.

Here is a link to the video:

This is pretty cool. I've done some work in sketchup, but haven't really made it to this level.

You're model looks great, but one thing you may want to look at is your mandibles/red part of the face. Vertically they are more straight up and down. One thing in working with these templates I've noticed is the bottom of the face likes to stick out a little too much.

BF sides.jpg

Thanks for the feedback. I see what you mean and, I do appreciate it. I think I'm at a point where my model is such a mess (from a CAD perspective) that I will have to start over. But as always, the experience I have from this one, will make my next one much better. I still have to get the dent in the top as well.

I do look at this helmet as my "Practice" helmet. I've never done any of this stuff before, so this will most definitely be the "Prototype" portion of the project. Here is the progress I have made since I did that video.

upload_2017-7-24_9-50-46.png