HiC Carbonite ESB Stand

clmayfield

Active Hunter
I did a thread for my HiC, but I think this one deserves its own thread. I plan to make my Han in Carbonite "hover" just like in ESB. Everyone remembers the iconic scene:

First, I want to get the audio right, so I tried my best to strip the audio out of the hovering HiC. Here is what I came up with:

That was a stretch for me. I have zero sound editing experience. It took a while, but sounds pretty decent.

I know everyone is asking "how are you going to make a prop hover," so I will be following up with some plans to show you how I intend to do it. I actually got the idea from the Gentle Giant statuette:
GGbobafettcarbonite012.jpg

Sorry. I was trying to make a nice graphic and din't get around to it last night.

The idea is to have a platform supported by a 1.5" pole that is offset / off center. This is used in magician tricks to give the illusion of levitation all of the time. Fett will be standing by the pole to conceal it.

Here are my plans:

Finished side view with Fett

Top View

Side view (not to scale)

Bottom platform design with measurements.

Bottom platform side view (not to scale)

Top support with measurements.

Top support (not to scale).

Here is a video of the levitation trick exposed:

I actually have bought some ball transfer units (basically ball bearing wheels) to put under this thing so that you could push it around during a Con. Typically, you would put a matt under the HiC to hide the platform.

I actually moved the pole over to the other side based on the fact that all of the pictures show Fett at the lower right side of the HiC. I thought about the cape, which would be perfect, but the cape doesn't hang low enough. Looking at pictures, they kept the HiC fairly low. The front of the cod is actually above the Surface of the HiC. I estimate 35".