Scratch build parts list and cost analysis

shwnicus

New Hunter
Hi all!

I'm super new here and have only an introduction thread to my name:
Advise for a newbie
I'm just getting into the basics and my plan is a custom "boba-esque" mandalorian. I have no aspirations for 501st or high movie accuracy. Just something fun for my 11 year old son and I. I found the rubies jango helmet on amazon for cheap as a starter, but turns out its way too big for me. When compared to the WoF and Rafaelfett templates, its a good 10% bigger! My kid has a big head so its fine for him.

So I started putting together a parts list of the things I'll need to make my own bucket.

List so far:
Chipboard
White glue
exacto knives
formica sheet for a workspace
bondo resin
bondo glass
bondo body filler
brushes for glue
putty knives
gloves
(am I missing anything obvious?)

When I priced out just this list, I was well over $100. And that's assuming I don't mess up and require multiple tries (which I would bet dollars to donuts that I will). I've also never used bondo, so I expect I'll go through that quickly just practicing.

I'd post in "Cargo Hold" but I don't have the privileges yet. How much does a budget cast bucket from a reputable TDH seller go for? Or even someone's throw away? To reiterate, I'd be fine with modding the crappy rubies but it looks like a 5G bucket on my head.

thanks much!

The size of the bucket will be much less dramatic looking with the rest of the armor on. With just the helmet it does give a very bobble head look. I can't advise on scratch building as I haven't given it a shot but I know that with time and good attention to detail they can turn out very good. Check out other scratch built threads for ideas and tips so you can learn from others mistakes and not make them yourself. That way you may not require multiple tries at some stuff.