Protective clear coat for enamel paints?

Neo Fett

Active Hunter
I recently started learning airbrush. I've got the technique more or less figured out however I'm having trouble with everything being very easily scratched and scuffed. I bought testors clear coat (the 3oz can) and it seems like it helps after putting on several coats, but I feel it could still be better.

What is the best and strongest clear coat that is also matte to be used overtop Humbrol enamel airbrush paint?
Related question: Best primer to use?

Odd your enamel paint is scratch easily.... how long have you let it sit between coats/layers?
Also what’s the weather like when your painting and when the paint is drying as it does effect the paint.

I also used Humbrol paints for my helmet and I noticed the green layer scuffs really easily as well. I know some people don't clear coat it at all but I'm worried about damaging the paint if I don't.

OK, from an accuracy perspective adding a clear coat isn't accurate....

From a protection standpoint a little bit of dullcoat will add SOME protection BUT it also changes the color of the paint so keep in mind the more coats you add the farther away from the color you started with you get. And the more you add the hazier it gets. Youre not wearing a Vader or imperial guard suit youre wearing a grimy bounty hunter suit that is worn and the scratches (not to the plastic) add more character to the suit! So if your paint is hard and not chipping off youre good to go. If its chipping off that's a problem possibly from your application or priming.

As above....
I usually mist a dullcote over what I’ve painted, mainly just to seal and add a little protection. Unless the paint is scratching through to the next layer too easily or flaking off, you shouldn’t be too concerned;after all most paints we use are designed for model kits not the hard knocks of life.
Scuffs and small scratches add character and possible stories;)